« Celebrating 30 Years! | Main | Awards Day 2014 - The Winners! »



Awards Day 2015 was held on the morning of Thursday 5th of November at Newington College, Stanmore. The winners and honour books, authors and illustrators who attended the awards and the list of schools represented are featured in the presentation above.

Further down the page are video messages from winners who could not attend the awards ceremony: Aaron Blabey, Andy Griffiths, Fiona Wood, Susannah McFarlane, Morris Gleitzman and Ursula Dubosarsky.

Thanks to all the authors and illustrators who attended the day or sent a video message, and to their supportive publishers who went the extra mile. 


How did it go? We received the following message from Svetlana Paul, Junior School Teacher Librarian at St. Andrews Cathedral School, Sydney, which is typical of the reactions of the kids and teachers who made the trek and made the day a wonderful celebration for all.  

Thank you everyone at K.O.A.L.A. and Newington for an incredible day. My book club members already had been bitten by the reading bug but their passion has been truly ignited today by their experiences. Unforgettable for everyone involved.         Svetlana :)

Bronte 3/4R “I think KOALA was fun, especially seeing Jules Faber draw his art.  I also liked signing books.”

Alex 6RA “I really enjoyed the KOALA awards because it was fun to meet the authors and illustrators and get a photo with some of them!”

Jason 3F “I think it was awesome at that place, I loved it.”

Elle 3/4R “KOALA was awesome.  We saw lots of famous authors and illustrators.”

Joanna 3F “I loved meeting Jules Faber.”

Adriana 3F “I liked when Jules Faber was drawing on the whiteboard.”

Jo 3/4R “It was really fun.  I got to meet all my favourite authors like Tristan Bancks.”

Congratulations to all our wonderful authors and illustrators who inspire our kids to enjoy reading. See our Facebook and Twitter feeds elsewhere on this page to find out more about the day.

The video playlist below has messages from winners who could not be with us on the day: Aaron Blabey, Andy Griffiths, Fiona Wood, Susannah McFarlane, Morris Gleitzman and Ursula Dubosarsky. Use the menu in the top left corner of the video to go to an individual message.


References (117)

References allow you to track sources for this article, as well as articles that were written in response to this article.

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.