Awards Night 2003

On 30 October the KOALA winners for 2003 were announced at Meriden School before an audience of more than 350 keen young readers. What an exciting occasion it was! We were delighted to have shortlisted authors and illustrators Duncan Ball, Anna & Barbara Fienberg, Jackie French, Kim Gamble, Bob Graham, Lyn Lee, Rosie Smith, Allan Stomann and Bruce Whatley present plus Di Bates, Bill Condon and Janine Dawson. Students from Meriden were joined by young readers from Annandale North, Burwood, Newtown, Glenhaven, Lucas Heights, Tarrawanna and Chatswood Public Schools, Mt Annan Christian School, PLC Junior School Pymble, St Luke’s Grammar Dee Why, St Johns Auburn, St Josephs Toronto, Our Lady of the Way, Emu Plains, Locquat Valley Christian School, Bayview and St Philips Christian School, Waratah.

As well as announcing the 2003 winners we admitted Big Bad Bruce by Di Bates and Phoebe Middleton to the KOALA Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame titles are books which have not won KOALA but which have appeared on shortlists at least five times, demonstrating their popularity with young readers in NSW.

For the kids from St Josephs, a highlight of the day was winning a picture of Tashi drawn by Kim Gamble for their school library.

Special thanks go to Gabrielle Ritchie and staff and students at Meriden School for hosting the 2003 Awards Day.