Awards Day 2007

What a fabulous day! With 24 schools and 20 authors & illustrators attending the awards, KOALA certainly celebrated 21 years in style!  It was a very festive day, especially for all the children who waited eagerly for the announcement of the winners. We were fortunate to have all the category winners present to receive their awards in person – Margaret Wild & Deborah Niland , Andy Griffiths & Morris Gleitzman.

Other authors & illustrators who attended were Deb Abela, Matt Dray, Anna Fienberg, John Flanagan, Chris Milne, Bruce Whatley, Matthew Reilly, Duncan Ball, Allan Stomann, Kim Gamble, Sally Odgers, Janine Dawson, Felice Arena, Ursula Dubosarsky, & also Richard Tulloch who had everyone holding their breath with the story of Brian Hobble being strangled by a boa constrictor!

For the kids from Austinmer Public, a highlight was winning an original Tashi illustration, which Kim Gamble drew on the stage during the ceremony. Other winning schools were Orana Heights PS who received a box of books worth $300; and St Joseph’s Kilaben Bay who took home a set of KOALA Syba Signs for their library. All students attending the awards received a book thanks to the generosity of publishers.